Spring/Summer 2014 Style Trend: Florals

Hey Gents,

One of the big trends that made itself prevalent on the European catwalks for this upcoming season was the floral pattern.  Alexander McQueen, Gucci, Prada, Dries Van Noten and many other notable designers had some pretty bold floral designs that will surely creep into the mainstream in the year to come.

Gucci Floral

The reason I’m focusing on this is that even though I don’t expect any of you to wear a floral shawl/blazer hybrid over floral cropped pants (Gucci), we can honor the trend on a smaller scale by incorporating it in the form of an accessory or just one piece of an outfit in the context of our day-to-day. For example, I plan on rocking my floral necktie (pictured below) often, but that’s probably going to be the extent of it! Nothing too fancy, but it’s a nice nod to what the European designers are doing and it’ll keep me ahead of the curve.

My recommendation would be to get one of these Linen Flower Ties at The Tie Bar. It’s an effortless way to step up your style game in an office or casual environment. If you want to be a little more bold though, I’d recommend a Floral Shirt that you can pair with a patternless bottom. Just note that since floral is such a strong pattern, you’re going to want to keep the patterns of the other pieces of your outfit relatively bland (I’m talking solids) to feature the floral and prevent clashing. Try Gitman Brothers for some rad shirts this season!

TTB Floral

Your Style Consultant,

Jack

8 comments

  1. Hey there I am so thrilled I found your webpage, I really found you by mistake, while I was searching on Aol for something else, Nonetheless I am here now
    and would just like to say thanks for a tremendous post
    and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to
    read through it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it
    and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will
    be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the fantastic
    work.

Leave a Reply

