A Personal Lookbook

Hey readers! I’ve recently received several requests to publish a personal lookbook. This isn’t something I’ve really done in the past since the purpose of this publication is to offer advice and help others with their basic menswear woes — not a platform for me to show off and humblebrag, #holdthehumble.

After some consideration though, I figured this might not be such a terribad idea. After all, once I internalized the foundations of basic menswear, the main source of my personal style development came from checking out the looks of my favorite designers and bloggers. Not to copy their outfits verbatim, but to cherrypick elements that would work for me and mash them into a sort of franken-style that I could call my own. Kind of like how Biz Markie sampled Freddie Scott’s “You Got What I Need” and turned a soulful love tune into a thirsty hip hop ballad — It’s slightly jarring when compared to the source material, but hey, it’s pretty creative and why not, because it actually has an identity and legs of its own.

So check out the below photos as I unpack a few of my outfits. I don’t remember what exactly some of the individual pieces are called, but I’ll try my best to at least list the brands. Take what you like, burn what you don’t, and anyway, here’s Wonderwall.

A basic streetwear outfit with classic pieces like a denim jacket and leather/suede sneakers. Shirt: Blend | Jacket: Levi’s | Pants: Bonobos | Shoes: Nike for J.Crew

All black, minimal fit to accent the shoes (which are unfortunately cropped out in this shot, sorry). American Flag Shirt: Ikka | Biker Jacket: ASOS | Pants: Bonobos | Shoes: Visvim Mesa Moc Folk

Processed with VSCO with a7 preset

Shirt: Ikka | Jacket: Levi’s | Pants: Bonobos | Shoes: Converse

My “Saturday night” outfit. The ones where I’m not binging Netflix. Shirt: Forever 21 | Jacket: Zara | Pants: Bonobos | Boots: Topman

A super relaxed “run around town running errands”. Shirt: Wolf vs Goat | Noragi Kimono Shirt: Naked & Famous | Pants: Bonobos | Shoes: Visvim FBT

“9-5” look. Shirt: Band of Outsiders | Jacket: H&M | Tie: The Tie Bar | Pants: Bonobos

By the by, I want to remind you that Father’s Day is coming up right around the corner! It really just sneaks up on you, huh? Well I wanted to give you a rad gift idea by giving a shoutout to Social Print Studio. With their collection of digital photo books and metal prints, it’s a great way to bring your digital favorites to life. You can create a lookbook or collection of all of your dad’s goofy selfies and it’s much more unique and personal than a gift card or Hallmark card. Check them out!

Leave a Reply

